Nuts for Vegan Baklava

Substitute Earth Balance margarine for the butter in this baklava recipe from flagrantedelicia.com, and you have a vegan pastry full of spiced nuts and hubristic feelings of superiority.

I made rolls, layered triangles, and mini-cups. I’m sure the easiest way to do baklava would be layering your margarine-brushed phyllo sheets spread with nuts in a baking pan. After the pastry bakes up all golden-crisp, cut pieces are drenched in a flavored sugar syrup to sit. Your patience is rewarded after several hours. It’s a process, but not difficult as long as you work quickly with the phyllo. Have the oven on and all the other ingredients ready.

Sometimes I am in awe at how much I dedicate to cooking to make up for my failures as a human being. Oh… well. With these sticky-sweet, golden phyllo pastries, I may still have the world eating out of my hands, literally.

3 Comments

Filed under Food & Drink, Recipe links

3 responses to “Nuts for Vegan Baklava

  1. T

    Gorgeous, I love baklava! Don’t you want to set up a shop near me? :)

  2. Wow, those look so good! I’ve only had baklava as layered triangles, I haven’t seen them as rolls or cups. I’m going to have it give it a go at making some, thanks for the recipe! :-)

Leave a Reply

