Birthday and Dinner at Millennium

Last Friday I finally got around to turning 20. It’s about time, isn’t it? To celebrate, I went into San Francisco with a (gorgeous) friend at UC Berkeley and my (gorgeous) boyfriend. We spent the morning in the (gorgeous) botanical gardens of Golden Gate Park, then explored the (gorgeous) King Tut exhibit at the de Young (wish I could have taken pictures there! ).

sf botanical garden - gaby & me 2

sf botanical garden - john & me 2

sf botanical garden - gaby & rhododendron

sf botanical garden rhododendron

The afternoon was cold and full of rain, but evening was cozy and full of delicious smells inside my favorite restaurant, the Millennium on Geary Street. The winter menu boasts an array of richer, heartier fare than the menu of summer. Our trio had caribbean tempeh, polenta nera cake, and yuba roulade with desserts of “death by chocolate and peanut butter” and meyer lemon pound cake.

millennium bday dinner

Though the dishes were tasty and interesting, and my friend Gaby loved the daily bread with white bean-thyme spread, I was a bit underwhelmed. Dining at the Millennium is a pricey but special treat that always makes me feel I’ve spent my money well, yet only about half the time am I truly stunned rigid with amazement at the food’s spectacular deliciousness. And the other times it’s merely great.

I asked for a candle in my little cake, because I wanted to have my birthday wish. But when I blew out the flame, what did I wish for? Nothing. Maybe that’s the problem with me. Or maybe I didn’t want to dawdle and think of wishes while facing a lemon cake topped with candied kumquats and raspberry sorbet.

millennium meyer lemon pound cake with candied kumquats 2

3 Comments

Filed under Eating out, Food & Drink

3 responses to “Birthday and Dinner at Millennium

  1. Happy belated birthday! Augh, you’re making me feel so old- I just turned 21 last month. ;)

    Looks like a seriously delicious way to celebrate!

  2. Millennium is one of my favorite restaurants too. I think it’s hard for any restaurant to have every dish be stunning. Doesn’t it always seem like there’s one dish that stands out from the rest? Anyways, that’s been my experience. Sounds like you had a great time in the city. Happy belated birthday! :-)

  3. Thanks for the birthday wishes!

    chow vegan – There definitely seems to always be one dish on the menu that’s just ‘BAM, wow’ while the rest are just nice

Leave a Reply

